After the Runway: Season 15, Episode 2 – Just Fabulous!

Hello everyone!

Ready for another Project Runway recap? I am!!

For those who are new to this, each week, I (and collaborator Michelle Überreste) will offer up our thoughts on the top and bottom looks each week.

If you haven’t watched the episode yet, don’t go any further! Spoilers await. 🙂

Enjoy!

SoT_PR

Challenge #2. I have to say, one thing I’m not liking about this season so far is how little time the designers are given to create a look. How are the judges supposed to expect perfection from just ONE day??

This week’s challenge was to create a look for the “everyday woman” to be sold by JustFab. This could have been a great challenge if they only had more time.

So, how did they turn out? Let’s start with the top looks for this week.

Alex

Alex
My thoughts: I thought Alex’s look was quite chic. I LOVED the giant bow on the top, and the pants were done very well. Nothing terribly ground-breaking, but still, I agreed it being in the top. This look would have easily looked great on many sizes.
Michelle’s thoughts: I couldn’t tell if this was black or navy. It looked black when it walked the runway but in some of the close ups it looked navy. I love black, of course, but I think navy would have been a nice touch. This has SO been done before but I think Alex expertly handled this look, and it is supposed to be a commercial look, therefore nothing is new. I think his constructions, especially with the sheer fabric was flawless, and his presentation near perfect. The only thing I would have changed about this is the midriff! You can’t approach “every woman” with an outfit that shows her mid section.

Erin

Erin
My thoughts: I was certain that this was going to be the winning look this week. It was great, and I loved Erin’s idea of using the side straps to cinch the dress at the waist. Pretty ingenious!
Michelle’s thoughts: I love the fun that Erin brings to her designs, she was definitely the only one with any real color up on that runway. However, this is not for the every day woman at all. Neoprene in bright colors that are matched together in a more editorial way (not an every day way) with sleeves that are too fashion forward for the every day woman. I loved this look, especially with the belt closed, I loved the addition of the sequins, I just don’t think it met the criteria of the challenge.

Laurence – Winner

Laurence
My thoughts: This was a pretty good look, but wasn’t my choice to be the winner. I didn’t think that it really could cater to different sizes for women. I wasn’t much of a fan of the excess material in the legs, but I did love the top details. I’m not sure what I think about the color either. The whole thing looks a little too much like a military pilot’s flight suit.
Michelle’s thoughts: This outfit was really a risk! I loved it, however, I can’t see most women liking or wearing this type of silhouette. However, I thought it was utilitarian yet edgy, I would wear this every day of my life!

And here are the bottom looks for this week.

Kimber

Kimber
My thoughts: Kimber had a great idea on paper. I also think that had she ended up sewing her top the right way, she might have ended up on the top. I loved the high waisted pants, and the bell top. It would have catered to a lot of women.
Michelle’s thoughts: These pants were definitely the best part of the outfit. The dark fabric and shape of the pants along with the high waist makes these wearable on almost any figure. The top, however, is another story, even if it had been constructed better, the shape is not flattering, and I would fear exposure at every breath if I was wearing this. I also really hate how the pocket lining is sticking out. I like a little contrast here and there but this looks messy and unintentional.

Brik

Brik
My thoughts: Again, I was certain that Brik’s look would have ended up sending it home. The pants were great, and the top was also, but the colors just made it look so bland. Like the judges said, it reminded me also of office wear.
Michelle’s thoughts: These pants were just a horrible tragedy. The print, the fabric, the cut, nothing was good about them AT ALL. The jacket was pretty nice, it was well fitted, and had some nice modern detail on the top, but you couldn’t tell on the runway because the model’s hair was covering up anything that was interesting. I also think the color choice was poor, it wasn’t a standout, it made the whole outfit even more bland.

Linda – Eliminated

Linda
My thoughts: I didn’t agree with the judges on this being the losing look. I do agree that it should have been in the bottom, but Linda has shown to be more creative to me than Brik. I really liked the knit dress. The cutout in the chest gave it a little bit of sexiness to it. But I did agree about the kimono. That did NOT turn out very well. Perhaps if it had turned out better, maybe the judges would have liked her look more. Again, great aspirations, but because of time constraints, it just didn’t pan out.
Michelle’s thoughts: This outfit was really unfortunate. Linda should have been able to excel at this challenge, as she has more life experience and I expected her to have a better grasp of what every day women want to and reasonably can wear. The knit dress was really unfortunate and even though the judges complained a lot about the fabric itself, I think the worst part was the cut of the sleeves and uneven keyhole. Those sleeves are not flattering on a skinny model, they definitely won’t be for anyone else. As far as the jacket, I like the idea a lot but it just looked like an old, stained, organza curtain from my grandmother’s house. The raw edges were not helping anyone and definitely did not look intentional.

So, what did you all think about the looks this week? Did you agree or disagree?

One thought on “After the Runway: Season 15, Episode 2 – Just Fabulous!

  1. Propozycje Alex i Kimber to strzał w dziesiątkę…Z wielką chęcią założyła bym takie stroje. Oczywiście po małych poprawkach, jakie ty zaproponowałeś…

    Inne stroje jakie tu zobaczyłam są dla mnie nie do przyjęcia.
    Pozdrawiam

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

