After the Runway: Season 15, Episode 4 – Sink or Swim

Hello everyone!

Ready for another Project Runway recap? I am!!

For those who are new to this, each week, former Project Runway: Under the Gunn contestant and collaborator Michelle Überreste and myself will offer up our thoughts on the top and bottom looks each week.

If you haven’t watched the episode yet, don’t go any further! Spoilers await. 🙂

Enjoy!

SoT_PR

This week’s challenge had the designers creating their own printed fabrics, and then using their fabrics to create a swimwear and cover-up look to be featured in Heidi Klum’s swimsuit collection.

How did things turn out? Let’s have a look at the top designs for this week.

Alex

Alex
My thoughts: I will admit: I don’t love this look as much as the judges raved about it. I can sort of see the Grecian vibe from this look, but the cover-up looks elderly to me. I’m not a fan of it. Apparently, Alex took the time to study Heidi’s dossier of the other pieces in her collection, and it worked in his favor.
Michelle’s thoughts: Little House on the Prairie goes to the beach! I can totally see why the judges liked this look, the cover up is sort of boho, easy, yet modern, I could see a lot of girls wearing it. The swimsuit underneath is flattering, and I think he made the right choice to pair it with white and use the blue as piping. I liked this look, but to be honest it’s not really my cup of tea. I thought the shoes were pretty weird with it, too.

Roberi

Roberi
My thoughts: Of the looks the judges picked to be in the top, I thought this was the one that should have been the winner. Roberi did a fantastic job creating his feather print, and I also loved the shape of the swimsuit that he created. The one thing I didn’t really care for the was the size of the feathers. I think it would have looked a LOT better if feathers were a giant size, or even a micro size.
Michelle’s thoughts: I thought this was super tasteful, especially for being printed spandex. The feathers also kind of looked like little fishes and I loved the color scheme. This could have gone really wrong, but the shape was tasteful (though basic) and I loved the cover up. It was simple yet interesting and looked expensive. I loved all the colors.

Rik – winner

Rik
My thoughts: After hearing about the dossier that was given to the designers to study from and create a look for, I can totally see why this look won. The print fits in perfectly with the rest of the collection. The cover-up with the oversized snaps are pretty genius as well. The print wasn’t terribly ground-breaking, but I can see looking better on a variety of sizes.
Michelle’s thoughts: The black and white has so been done before but this looked fresh! I loved the print and the way he decided to place it, it looked attractive, yet bold, and the cover up was so elegant and effortless.

And now let’s have a look at the looks on the bottom for this week.

Jenni

Jenni
My thoughts: I must be completely crazy, but I did NOT hate this look, nor think it should have been on the bottom. I thought the pant cover-up was pretty clever, and the swimsuit looked very modern. The only thing I didn’t really like too much was the color. It made it look a little more junior, but shouldn’t have been a deciding factor.
Michelle’s thoughts: Totally Malibu Barbie! I always tell designers to stick to their guns, but you shouldn’t completely dismiss the client you are designing for. Big mistake! Heidi told her she didn’t like the print, or the cover up in the work room, she should have listened at least a little. The color was horrific and only looked good because her model was carrying it. In another color it may have worked. It just looked really cheap and dated.

Tasha

Tasha
My thoughts: Tasha had such high hopes for her print. What was supposed to be more of an ethnic feel, ended up looking more like what Heidi and Nina called “Chinese” or “Japanese” takeout-inspired. It ended up being a very basic looking two piece.
Michelle’s thoughts: She should have gone home based on this look. I know she tried and was in a bad headspace, but this was terrible. Super basic, the print made no sense, it wasn’t personal or attractive. The top was WAY too small, and the cover up was a throw away piece. I hope Tasha can start bringing it, because I think she could make some really cool stuff if she starts pushing herself a little more.

Sarah – eliminated

Sarah
My thoughts: This was another look that I didn’t think was nearly as bad the judges thought it was. I really loved the print she created. It was very unique. The fit of the swimsuit was great, but also was quite basic. The cover-up was pretty awful.
Michelle’s thoughts: I didn’t hate the girly print as much as I thought I would. It’s definitely not my cup of tea, but I didn’t think it was “too young” as the judges thought it was. I could see a girl 18-35 wearing this, a fun girl, not a serious girl, but I could see it selling, and I think a lot of people would think it’s cute. I kind of liked the original ties with the color added. I absolutely hated the cover up. It looked cheap and it wasn’t flattering. I know she was trying to do something with it, but it totally did not work.

One thought on “After the Runway: Season 15, Episode 4 – Sink or Swim

Leave a Reply

