After the Runway: Season 15, Episode 7 – Welcome to the Urban Jungle

Hello everyone!

Ready for another Project Runway recap?

For those who are new to this, each week, former Project Runway: Under the Gunn contestant and collaborator Michelle Überreste and myself will offer up our thoughts on the top and bottom looks each week.

If you haven’t watched the episode yet, don’t go any further! Spoilers await. 🙂

Enjoy!

SoT_PR

I have to say: these one-day challenges are really starting to grate on my nerves. How can the judges expect the designers to crank out perfection by giving them ONE DAY to do it? At this rate, the final 3 will probably only given 3 days to put together a 10-piece collection.

Anyway…

For this challenge, the designers are whisked away to Orlando (Universal Studios, to be exact) for what seems to be long enough to ride the Hollywood Rip Ride Rocket coaster (LOVE that coaster) one time, and ride the new King Kong adventure ride, and then flown right back to NYC for the challenge. Because the King Kong ride is based loosely on a jungle, the designers are tasked to create an “urban jungle” look, inspired from the ride.

So, how did the designs turn out? Let’s start by having a gander at the top looks this week.

Dexter

Dexter

My thoughts: Honestly, I’m not entirely sure what I think about this look. The color is okay, and the shorts are kind of neat, but I do not like the super exaggerated shoulders of the jacket. I did love the skull buttons he used, though. It makes me think that Lara Croft (Tomb Raider) was trying to smuggle some bowling balls on her shoulders.
Michelle’s thoughts: This look was everything! Fun, dramatic, interesting, and made a huge impact on the runway. Everything you could want. Not only that, but it screamed streetwear and also felt high end. I loved that he mixed the two olive greens together and added the piping. The styling was totally on point and I could see any cool performer wearing this on stage as well. A winner in my book.

Nathalia

Nathalia

My thoughts: I really liked Nathalia’s look. The colors are a bit subdued, though. The pants are great, and I love the coat, but I’m that much of a fan of the pockets. If she had time to make hidden pockets, that would have been even cooler.
Michelle’s thoughts: I didn’t care much for this look, though I thought it was put together and chic, the colors were super boring, and this didn’t strike me as streetwear at all. Had this been a different challenge, it would have been great, but I thought this was a little too refined and not fun enough. I do like the shape of the jacket, but I actually think it would have been better for her to keep the gorilla fur.

Laurence – winner

Laurence

My thoughts: For me, the best thing about this look is the jacket that Laurence made. It’s very Michael Jackson-esque, and I love the details on the sleeves. I was not a fan of the pants, though. As Heidi said, it made it look like the model was packing a penis. It was still the best of the top looks, in my opinion.
Michelle’s thoughts: This look was impeccably constructed, but it felt very low impact to me. It met the challenge criteria, however, it just felt super basic. I could tell a lot of work went into it, and Lawrence is very good at subtle detailing. I just don’t see this as innovative or pushing the envelope at all. It looks like a lot of pieces you could pick up in stores today under $50.

Here are the bottom looks for this week.

Cornelius

Cornelius

My thoughts: This was nowhere near as bad as the judges thought it was. Yes, it was pretty basic. I rather liked the patchwork on the pants, but felt that they would have looked much better if they were more form-fitting, instead of being baggy. The top was ill-fitting, but again, that’s what happens when you only have one day to work on a look.
Michelle’s thoughts: This was just okay. I love the idea that he thought to use color, and I think the yellow leather is great. However, I have two problems with this outfit. The first problem is the silhouette of the outfit, it reminds me of Gwen Stefani in the late 90’s. Which is sort of good, but dated. The second is the construction and proportion issues. I think Cornelius had the right idea, but it doesn’t seem like streetwear is his forte, so it wasn’t executed very well.

Erin

Erin
My thoughts: This look was definitely not one of Erin’s finest. I honestly would not have been surprised if she ended up going home for this. Erin is a master of embroidery, but she spent far too much time trying to create something for this look, that it ended up looking pretty awful. The shorts look like there are patches of straw growing out of them. The top is nothing new, and I agreed with the judges in that it looked like the model was wearing it backwards.
Michelle’s thoughts: Kind of a mess. It looks like this girl tried deconstructing some clothes and then rolled around in a haystack. I loved the embroidery detail up close but I don’t think it was used in a smart way. I wish it had been in a recognizable pattern or placement, like the shoulders or somewhere that could be flattering. I think Erin ran out of time, she should have made sure she had a solid garment before spending so much time with the embroidery.

Brik – eliminated

Brik
My thoughts: I’m sorry, but I am in agreement with the judges on this. While I like how the top turned out (kind of a stained glass effect), I do NOT like it paired with the zebra print. They REALLY clash.
Michelle’s thoughts: I actually loved this look minus a few small details. I was really surprised this was the look they chose to send home this time around. I LOVE the optical illusion pants, and you can tell it was painstaking trying to get those wavy lines to match up on the seams. I loved the top and it also looked very intensive work-wise and the colors and transparency was cool mixed with the texture. My only critique of this look is that I didn’t like the length of the top and how it cut her at the hip. I thought it was a little dated and the hem could have been more interesting and flattering, then it would have been more successful.

So, what did you all think about the looks this week? Did you agree or disagree with the judges? Let us know!

Leave a Reply

