After the Runway: Season 15, Episode 9 -Life is Full of Surprises

Hello everyone!

Ready for another Project Runway recap?

For those who are new to this, each week, former Project Runway: Under the Gunn contestant and collaborator Michelle Überreste and myself will offer up our thoughts on the top and bottom looks each week.

If you haven’t watched the episode yet, don’t go any further! Spoilers await. 🙂

Let’s get to it!

SoT_PR

This week’s challenge is brought to you by AARP. Designers are to create a look for someone “special” to start new chapters in their lives. There’s a lot at stake this time: the winning designer nets $25,000, as does the “special” person they designed for. The special folks are mostly the designers’ mothers, friends, and daughters.

Let’s have a look at the top three looks for this week.

Roberi

Roberi

My thoughts: I really like the silhouette and shape of this dress, but I just can’t get on board with the mix of patterns. To me, they are too closely sized the same, which just throws me all off. I thought this was going to be one of the safe or bottom looks.
Michelle’s thoughts: Very interesting look, it appeared very expensive. The mixture of the blue lace cutout fabric with the black and white top and piping detail looked high end.

Mah-Jing

Mah-Jing

My thoughts: This is another look that I personally didn’t like. The judges loved it and called it “Matrix” like, but I am just not a fan of the top part of the leather coat. It simply looks unfinished to me.
Michelle’s thoughts: I absolutely loved this look, it was my favorite of the bunch! I would wear this in a second. It looked so expensive and edgy, yet looked great on someone who isn’t a picture perfect model. She had so much swag, quiet confidence, and mystery. I think I need to put my order in for one of these jackets.

Rik – Winner

Rik

My thoughts: This was my pick of the winning look for this week. Rik really nailed it with this look. The coat he created looks very Chanel-esque. I also loved the white stitching and the red heart on the dress. Totally nailed it.
Michelle’s thoughts: I loved the leather cutout detail he did on the jacket, it looked very intricate and thought out. However, I thought the heart on the dress looked a little juvenile, and the tweed jacket looked a little TOO Chanel. This looked great on the model, however, and she seemed to exude confidence.

Here are the looks on the bottom for this week.

Erin

Erin

My thoughts: Erin, Erin, Erin… I was not a fan of this look. The coat was a repeat of the other coats she has done in previous challenges. I also was not a fan of the lace. She used WAY too much of it, and it looked quite matronly. If she had used it much more sparingly, it might have looked MUCH better.
Michelle’s thoughts: I was shocked that this jacket was really not flattering at all. Erin’s coats and jackets are usually stellar, maybe because she is used to dressing a size 2 model. She didn’t translate it to real life, and it really fell flat. The idea for the design was cool, but wasn’t executed correctly.

Nathalia

Nathalia

My thoughts: I have to say that it was really hard to see my 3 most favorite designers in the bottom this week. I really, REALLY wanted to love Nathalia’s look, but the proportions were way off. This look is just swallowing her whole. Had everything been smaller and more form fitting (though I LOVE the wide pants), this would likely have won.
Michelle’s thoughts: I loved the jacket, even though I feel she has problems with finishing her garment in an expensive way. The shape was pretty cool and the contrast of the light and dark very striking. The pants were terrible. Together, it made for a rather mediocre look.

Jenni – Eliminated

Jenni

My thoughts: In a nutshell: loved the top, hated the bottom. The patterns really clash with one another, and the pants did not fit at all. Had the pants been more fitting, it might have looked a little better. Both the top and bottom looks are unmistakeably Jenni, but I felt they just didn’t belong together on the same person.
Michelle’s thoughts: I loved the sweater but it made her model look even more top heavy and the outfit altogether was very frumpy. This may be a cool outfit for a young, underweight girl, but not for the every day woman. Her model looked like she felt confident and comfortable, but it wasn’t flattering whatsoever.

So, what did you all think about the looks this week? Let us know!

One thought on “After the Runway: Season 15, Episode 9 -Life is Full of Surprises

Leave a Reply

